Upcoming Events

January 2017 Trainee Mentorship Series

The TIG Governing Committee is pleased to announce the January session of the Trainee Mentorship Series! This month, Drs. Mark and Shelley McGuire will be discussing work-life balance in academia.

Date: Monday, January 30th, at 8:00AM-9:00AM PST
What: Presentation and Q&A with Drs. Mark and Shelley McGuire
Title: Work-Life Balance: tips and tricks to keep things in check
Where: online via Uberconference

More info about Dr. Mark McGuire can be found here.

More info about Dr. Shelley McGuire can be found here.

Uberconference can be accessed via phone or internet, and instructions will be sent via email upon registration.

For this session, the TIG Governing Committee would like to request that you send questions in advance to tiggovcommittee@gmail.com to ensure they are incorporated into the presentation. If you would like to register for this session of the Trainee Mentorship Series, please sign up using this form.

See you in January!


December 2016 Trainee Mentorship Series

The TIG Governing Committee is pleased to announce the December session of the Trainee Mentorship Series! This month, Dr. Laurence Grummer-Strawn will be discussing career paths that are alternatives to academia.

Date: Monday, December 19th, at 8:00AM-9:00AM PST
What: Presentation and Q&A with Dr. Laurence Grummer-Strawn
Title: Casual Conversation with Dr. Laurence Grummer-Strawn: Working Outside of Academia
Where: online via Uberconference

More info about Dr. Grummer-Strawn can be found here.

Uberconference can be accessed via phone or internet, and instructions will be sent via email upon registration.

If you would like to register for this session of the Trainee Mentorship Series, please email the TIG Governing Committee at tiggovcommittee@gmail.com.

See you in December!


November 2016 Trainee Mentorship Series

It is with great enthusiasm that the TIG Governing Committee invites you to join us for the November session of the TIG Mentorship Series! This special session will be co-chaired by Dr. Lars Bode, president of ISRHML, and Dr. Meghan Azad, chair of the Trainee Expansion Program Committee, generously sponsored by ISRHML and the Family Larsson-Rosenquist Foundation.

Date: Monday, November 7, 2016 at 9:00AM PST.
What: An information session on the Trainee Expansion Program, including: TEP concept, eligibility, and selection criteria; Significance of the program in terms of trainee career development and advancement of the field of human milk and lactation research;Tips on how to prepare a competitive application package; and Q&A session.
Where: online via Uberconference

More information on the TEP can be found here.

Uberconference can be accessed via phone or internet, and instructions will be sent via email upon registration.

For this session, the TIG Governing Committee would like to request that you send questions in advance to tiggovcommittee@gmail.com to ensure they are incorporated into the presentation. If you would like to register for this session of the Trainee Mentorship Series, please email the TIG Governing Committee at tiggovcommittee@gmail.com.

See you in November!


October 2016 Trainee Mentorship Series

The TIG Governing Committee is pleased to announce the October session of the Trainee Mentorship Series! Next month, Dr. Nathan Nickel will be discussing population health research within the context of human milk and lactation.

Date: Friday, October 7th, 9:00 am-10:00AM PST
What: Presentation and Q&A with Dr. Nathan Nickel
Title: Population health research related to human milk and lactation: What trainees need to know
Where: online via Uberconference

More info about Dr. Nickel can be found here.

Uberconference can be accessed via phone or internet, and instructions will be sent via email upon registration.

If you would like to register for this session of the Trainee Mentorship Series, please email the TIG Governing Committee at tiggovcommittee@gmail.com.

See you in October!


August 2016 Trainee Mentorship Series

Join us in the upcoming Trainee Mentorship series as we listen to the experts in the field of human milk and lactation research discuss a variety of topics and have the opportunity to interact and ask questions!

Our 6th Career Mentorship Series is now scheduled!
It will take place on Monday, August 29th at 2 pm CST (12 pm PT, 3pm EST, 8 pm BST) via web conference. This month, we have the privilege of hosting Dr. Paula Meier. Dr. Meier will be discussing “Interdisciplinary Human Milk Research in the Neonatal Intensive Care Unit.”

If you want to join please register by emailing us at tiggovcommittee@gmail.com


June 2016 Trainee Mentorship Series

Join us in the upcoming Trainee Mentorship series as we listen to the experts in the field of human milk and lactation research discuss a variety of topics and have the opportunity to interact and ask questions!

Monday, June 27, 2016, at 16:00-17:00 BST (British Summer Time; GMT+1) – Dr. Tanya M. Cassidy will be discussing “Sociological, Anthropological and Ethnological Approaches to Research in Human Milk and Lactation.” For more about Dr. Cassidy – http://www.uclan.ac.uk/staff_profiles/dr-tanya-cassidy.php


Past Trainee Mentorship events:

January 20, 2016, at 8:00 am PST (9:00 am MST; 11:00 am EST) – Dr. Kay Dewey will be discussing…

February 11, 2016, at 8:00 am PST (9:00 am MST; 11:00 am EST) – Dr. Peggy Neville will be discussing hypothesis-driven research and will guide us through a systematic approach to addressing the research question (hypothesis statements, study designs, etc.).

Other Past ISRHML Events:

March 3 – 6, 2016 ISRHML 2016 Conference in Stellenbosch, South Africa

For more information: http://www.isrhml2016.co.za/

cropped-isrhml2016-slide.jpg

Advertisements